Filipino delicasies

frozen delight to beat the heat of summer (ice candy)

It’s nearly summer here so I decided to try the recipe of an ice candy that I’ve just Google. It says ” Yummylicious” so I got so interested. Luckily  I have  an avocado, strawberry and I have a spare cocoa  powder in my pantry.  While making the ice candy I suddenly recall the memories I had when my mom is still alive. She was an entrepreneur back then and we run a small grocery store in our small village and one of the biggest hit on our store was the colourful ice candy made by my mom and me of course.   Anyway, to tell you honestly the recipe is a sure winner and a must try!. Another recipe that makes my husband and son happy. In fact husband says that he can’t resist my ice candies. They are really yummy and delicious, in short it is really ” yummylicious”. Thanks to Pinay In Texas Cooking Corner  for sharing the recipe.

Ingredients:
Avocado
  • 1 cup avocado (3 ripe avocados)
  • ¾ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup all-purpose cream
  • 2 ½ cups fresh milk
Chocolate
  • ½ cup Hershey’s Cocoa
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • ½ cup all-purpose cream
  • 3 cups fresh milk
  • ½ cup condensed milk
Strawberry
  • 10-12 pcs. strawberries
  • ¾ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup all-purpose cream
  • 2 ½ cups fresh milk
Procedure:
1. For each flavor, place all the ingredients in a blender.
2. Blend the ingredients until smooth.
3. Pour in a large bowl. Prepare the funnel, ice candy plastic bags, and a plate to hold the ice candy.
4. Place the funnel spout inside the opening of the ice candy plastic bag.
5. Stir the mixture before scooping a little more than ¼ cup of the mixture. Pour into the funnel. Make sure that you are holding the spout and plastic tightly so that the mixture won’t spill.
6. Twist the plastic just on top of the filled part then make a tight knot. A little bubble is normal. The ice candy has to be firm but not too tight so the plastic won’t rip.
7. Once you have done all your ice candy, wash them one by one to remove all the sticky spill. I also trim each plastic and just leave about an inch above the knot.
8. Place them in a flat surface in your freezer. You can stack them on top of each other in a maximum of 3 layers but don’t put anything else on top of them. Freeze  overnight or until hard enough. Serve and enjoy!
Note: I used cadbury cocoa:)

2 thoughts on “frozen delight to beat the heat of summer (ice candy)

  1. Hello, where do I find these bags to make “popsicles”?
    DO you know if there is a machine that ties them close?

    Like

    1. hello daniela, I got my bags from Philippines. Maybe you can try looking in asian stores they might be selling it . I don’t know if there’s a machine to tie them close but it’s so easy to tie using your hands/fingers. 🙂 hope you can try making this yummy popsicles or lollies..thanks for dropping by.

      Like

Leave a comment