cakes

Mocha cake just like Goldilocks!

Hello everyone! I’ve been very busy this Christmas time and the weather gets colder so I got so lazy to blog. But before year 2011 ends I decided to post one great recipe I have ever made that is  the famous and favorite of all Filipinos,  the undying love for mocha cake especially if made by Goldilocks. There were too many versions of mocha cake on the internet, but this recipe I tried was the one that really captures my heart maybe because based on the feed backs the cake was really delicious and taste likes Goldilocks!  I made this cake twice this year one for our noche buena  and one for  the  Christmas party with the Filipino community . The cake was really a success. I got so many compliments. Thanks to  Gourmeted.com.

mocha cake

INGREDIENTS

For the Cake:

For the Mocha Buttercream

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 large egg whites, at room temperature
  • 3 sticks (12 ounces) unsalted butter, soft, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon coffee/espresso granules
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 5 teaspoons water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 teaspoons amaretto

405387_2646198988337_1056526478_32563372_626706204_n1.jpg

PREPARATION

1.    For the Cake: Preheat oven to 375°F with racks in the upper middle and lower middle positions. Spray two 9”x2” round cake pans with baking spray, and line the bottom and sides with parchment paper.

2.    Whisk together egg yolks and sugar in a large bowl (or bowl of a stand mixer) over low, then medium speed, until creamy and light yellow in color.

3.    Dissolve espresso or coffee granules and cocoa powder in water and vanilla in a small bowl, getting rid of lumps while stirring. Pour into the egg-sugar mixture, along with canola oil, and beat until well combined.

4.    Remove large bowl from stand mixer (if using one) and sift cake flour and baking powder over it. Stir with a wooden spoon until well blended, scraping the sides of the bowl once.

5.    Whisk egg whites and cream of tartar into stiff peaks in a medium bowl, and fold into the mocha batter, a dollop or two first to liquefy the thick batter, and then in thirds.

6.    Divide the batter between two cake pans and place each pan on a baking sheet. Bake on two racks for 20 to 25 minutes, rotating the pans and exchanging the pans between racks halfway through. The cake is done when the tops become golden brown and the cake tester comes out clean when inserted in the middle.

7.    Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes, then carefully turn over on the wire rack, right side up. Cool completely before icing.

 

xmas-022

8.    For the Buttercream: Whisk sugar and egg whites for 3 to 5 minutes in a medium heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water (water should not touch the bottom of the bowl), until meringue is hot to the touch. The sugar granules will be dissolved and you will be left with a fluffy marshmallow cream-like froth.

9.    Remove bowl from heat and beat for 5 minutes with a hand mixer set to medium speed, or pour into a bowl of a stand mixer with a whisk attachment to mix.

10.  Add half of the butter and beat with a hand mixer (or paddle attachment for stand mixer) until smooth before adding the next half to combine. Scrape the sides of the bowl with a spatula and give it a quick stir. Beat again on medium-high for another 6 to 10 minutes to thicken.

11.  Dissolve cocoa and espresso/coffee granules in water, vanilla extract, and amaretto in a small bowl. Pour into the buttercream and beat for 2 minutes, scraping the sides at least once.

12.  To Assemble the Cake: Dot 3 3”-wide parchment paper strips with buttercream. Use the icing to stick the 3 strips into a triangle on a plate or cake stand. Dot the center bottom of the cake with icing, and place cake on top of the strips. These will keep your plate clean while frosting the cake.

13.  Spoon about ½ cup of frosting on top and spread it evenly with a flat metal spatula. Place the second layer of cake and spread a thin layer of icing over the entire cake and let it stand for 15 minutes. Spread a thicker layer of frosting over the side, working from the bottom up to the top. Frost the top by placing a mound of icing and spreading it to the side. You can decorate the cake with the remaining frosting as you wish.

Note: I did not use amaretto since I can’t find one but the taste is still delicious like Goldilocks!

 

mocha cake

37 thoughts on “Mocha cake just like Goldilocks!

  1. is there any substitute for amaretto? if none… should i used the liqeur? or the sour? i don’t know the difference though… thank you

    Like

    1. hello ehla☺ first of all I am so sorry for my late reply, I am too busy lately 😦 Honestly I have not used amaretto since I can’t find one, I tried it substituting with almond essence but then it was so strong. so after trying that I did not use anything at all and it still taste delicious. I wish I could find amaretto so I can distinguish the taste. Thanks for dropping by:)

      Like

      1. Hi, Amaretto is available at SM hypermarket/supermarket wine section. I bought mine last december 2012 when I tried mocha cake ala goldilocks. It cost around 200 bucks and it will last very long 🙂

        Like

      2. hi! i made this cake 4 times but i always fail on the buttercream part. the water separates from the butter cream and i dont know what im doing wrong. pls help me

        Like

    1. hello Maria, yes I just used 1 tsp of water for the whole recipe. Is your cake mixture still thick after you fold in the meringue mixture? Thanks for trying out the recipe 🙂 happy baking

      Like

  2. The flour mixture was so thick, I couldn’t mix it. So I ended up adding a little water before adding it to the meringue mixture. It came out good, I would have liked it to be a little more lighter, like the Goldilocks chiffon. But thank you for your recipe, I learnt the basics from it. It’s my first chiffon cake. ‘Appreciate people like you, who are kind enough to share their recipes that they have actually used.

    Like

    1. hello Maria, I don’t know what happen to your batter but I have baked this many times and I came up with soft chiffon cake. You might want to look at the photos from the site where I got this recipe Gourmeted.com . My blog is really to showcase all the recipes that I’ve found and tried 🙂 Thank you for dropping by. I would like to recommend that you will try baking the caramel cake too I assure you that it’s delicious:)

      Like

      1. If the texture of your the cake is very dense and heavy there are a few possible reasons for this.
        This may be caused by the improper whisking of the egg whites. The egg whites might be under-whisked or over-whisked so the cake does not rise to its optimum height.

        The meringue might not have been folded into the batter in the correct manner. If it is mixed in too roughly, too much air would be knocked out resulting in a poor rise.

        Like

  3. Just finished baking this… It brings back old memories… Taste like Goldilocks! Thanks for the recipe =) this the first cake I baked I didn’t use am are to but it taste just great =)

    Like

  4. Hi. I have learned from your recipe that goldilocks uses chiffon cakes for their cakes, am I right? I thought they were using sponge cake though. I loved your mocha cake so much. it is indeed goldilocks. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. I have my own version of mocha chiffon cake and mocha buttercream icing.For 1 bar butter,I use 3/4 cup sugar cooked in half cup water,eggwhites from 2 large eggs,1 tsp.coffee powder dissolved in just very little water,about 1 tsp.When done with the meringue,you have to add the diced,very cold butter piece by piece.Continue beating.There’s this stage when the icing looks curdly,just go on beating until it looks homogenous.Now this is the perfect time to add your coffee dissolved in water.Beat further until the coffee is evenly distributed.Check out photos at Victoria’s kitchen secrets page on Facebook.

    Like

  6. Hi…for step 7… After baking, do i turn over and cool on wire rack for 10minutes…then turn over again, right side up? Thanks! Im a bit confused and i know this part is important to avoid shrinking…it will be my first time to make a chiffon. Thanks!:)

    Like

  7. hi…can i used fondant to cover the cake? its chiffon cake,,i dont know if fondant will work on this one…thanks for sharing..

    Like

    1. Pag steam mo kc xa parang naging puto ata xa although dko pa na try but saw some videos of steaming cake at un nga parang puto xa.much better if bake mo xa but try it for yourself anyway,let me know whats the outcome 😁

      Like

  8. Can this cake be steamed instead of being baked? I just moved into a new apartment that doesn’t have an oven…

    Like

  9. I made this yesterday for my bestfriend’s mom’s 60th birthday. They loved it! For the buttercream, I doubled the recipe but didn’t double the water and it tasted good! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

    Like

Leave a comment