Macapuno Espasol

Honestly, the first time I tried eating espasol I could say that I don’t like it. I don’t know, am I weird? as most of the Filipinos in the gathering really loves it and my husband is  a big fan of it too. I began to think  I’m really weird as I’ve read that espasol is one of the favorite kakanin of many Filipinos. Then I thought that maybe there’s something special in espasol that I need to discover. Then I searched for recipes and have read that adding  macapuno, pinipig, jack fruit or any flavorings  you want  really makes the espasol special and delicious.  I have a jar of macapuno so I tried adding it to the recipe and I am happy to tell you that I fell in love with the espasol (:. I can say that I am now a fan of espasol 🙂 It’s really delicious.

pizap.com13953977475521

Ingredients:
  • 2 ½ cups glutinous rice flour
  • 1 14-oz. can coconut cream
  • 1/4 cup sugar or less (depending on your taste preference)
  • 1 cup macapuno
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp salt
Procedure:
1. In a pan, toast the glutinous rice flour over medium heat for about 25 minutes or until light brown. Set aside.
2. In a saucepan over medium heat, mix coconut cream and sugar. Stir until sugar is dissolved.
3. Add the macapuno, salt, and vanilla extract and bring to a gentle boil.
4. Gradually add 2 cups toasted glutinous rice flour  while stirring. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly,  for 30 minutes or until you get a soft dough-like consistency.
5. Remove from heat and let cool for a while.
6. You can divide it into balls and roll each ball into a mini log  and dredged it in the remaining toasted flour.
Leave a Reply

