my experiment

roasted chicken

roasted chicken

I know roasting chicken seems daunting but I want my roasted chicken to be tasty not just the skin but as well as the meat itself. Honestly, I can always buy cooked chicken in supermarkets any time at affordable price but it’s just that their chicken taste bland for me. I miss the Filipino style roasted chicken a.k.a  Lechon manok ,a  rotisserie chicken cooked in an outdoor pit. It is very well seasoned and tasty. There are loads of recipe for roasted chicken that I can hardly pick one which is best. So I decided to make a little experiment. The outcome didn’t fail me, the chicken turned out great and tasty (:. Recipe is inspired by two videos that I’ve found in Youtube.

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken

1/2 tsp dried thymes

1/2 tsp dried rosemary

1/2 tsp sage

1 tsp ground pepper

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 Tbsp lemon juice

4 stalks of lemon grass

1 stalk of lemon grass minced

1 stalk leeks, chopped

6 cloves garlic

MAGGI MAGIC SARAP (optional)

Procedure:

Mix the herbs and  rub  all over the chicken, including the cavity. Pour in the soy sauce, lemon juice and the pepper.  Put the minced lemon grass under the chicken skin. Stuff the cavity with the garlic, lemongrass and leeks and 1 tsp of MAGGI Magic sarap granules. Leave to marinade for atleast 1 hour or overnight (I marinated my chicken overnight).

Preheat the oven to 400° F / 200° C. Place the chicken in a roasting pan covered with foil.

Bake for 30 minutes. Lower the oven temperature to 350° F/ 180° C.

Open the chicken parcel. Cook for a further 50-60 minutes, turning at half time to brown the other side of the chicken. Basting it occasionally.

Use a meat thermometer to check the doneness of the chicken (at least 180ºF) or pierce with the fork and see if the juices run clear.

Let chicken rest for 10 minutes before slicing.Enjoy c”,)

One thought on “my experiment

Leave a Reply

