Polvoron

Polvoron is powdered milk candy, made of flour, sugar , butter and powdered milk. The flour is toasted and the rest of  ingredients are added. This is one of the easiest dessert to make. There are lots of recipes in the net and mostly they had the same measurements of ingredients , but I did not follow it so what I did is I made my version on how to do this. I am happy with my recipe as it tastes like the famous Goldilocks polvoron in the Philippines. Hope you can try it:)

Home made Polvoron are wonderful food gift idea, by using colourful cellophane or Japanese papers, they give the polvoron a festive look, unfortunately I don’t have the polvoron moulder 😦

 

Here’s my recipe :

INGREDIENTS :

1 cup all purpose flour

1 1/4 cup powdered milk

3 Tbsp. butter or 1 1/2 oz  ( 7 Tbsp melted butter)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

Procedure :

  1. Heat a frying pan or a wok then put-in the flour. Toast the flour until you smell the aroma and the color turns light brown. Make sure to stir while toasting to prevent the flour from being burnt.
  2. Remove the pan and transfer the mixture on a big bowl.
  3. Add the powdered milk, toss for another 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add sugar and melted butter. Mix well.

Note: you can also add some pinipig if you like 🙂

One thought on “Polvoron

  1. Hi I would like to know why my polvoron are not firm enough after an hour of taking out at the refregirator .Any suggestion on how to make it firm after an hour taking out on the fridge?I need your suguestion please help.Thanks in advance. .

Leave a Reply

