Cassava cake

Another Filipino dessert and also one of my favorites. This was my second time to bake cassava. I’ve baked before using other  recipe unfortunately it is not successful, though I love the taste, but something went wrong maybe because I did not thoroughly defrosted my frozen grated cassava well,  so impatient of me.  But I will try it again as soon as I’m in the mood to bake it. But for now I’m sharing another recipe of cassava cake which I found very easy, simple recipe unlike the other one who requires more ingredients. What I love about this recipe is that it is not so sweet, but very delicious in fact my husband complimented my cake 🙂 Hope you can try this too. Note that this will takes a longer time in baking because of the denseness but I will tell you it is worth waiting for 🙂 Thanks to TulipFleurs  for sharing the recipe.

INGREDIENTS :

2 packages Frozen Grated Cassava

1 Bottle Macapuno (Coconut Strings)

1 Can Condensed Milk (not evaporated)

1 Can Coconut Milk

¼ Cup Butter (softened) to be used in greasing the pan

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all ingredients together and pour in a greased  pan. Bake for 45 minutes or until top is lightly browned.

Note: I baked mine for 1 hour and 30 minutes, I think it depends on the oven 😉

I’ve found another delicious recipe for cassava cake, in fact this has been my favourite :). http://www.pinaycookingcorner.com/2011/03/cassava-cake.html

Ingredients:

Cake:
  • 2 packs grated cassava (1 lb each)
  • 1 ½ 14-oz. can condensed milk
  • 1 14-oz. can coconut cream
  • 1 12-oz. can evaporated milk
  • 3 eggs
  • ¼ cup sugar (If you want it sweeter, you can double the amount of sugar)
Toppings:
  • ½ can condensed milk
  • 1 egg
Procedure:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a small bowl, mix ½ can condensed milk and 1 egg. Set aside.
3. In a large bowl, mix all cake ingredients thoroughly.
4. Transfer to a lightly greased baking dish or pan. Bake for 1 hour.
5. Pour the condensed milk and egg mixture on top of the cassava cake. Bake for 20 minutes more or until desired brown color is achieved.
6. Remove from oven and allow to cool down completely. (In the Philippines, it is usually topped with grated cheese, but my daughters don’t like it that way so I omitted that part.)
7. Slice and serve for dessert or even for snack.
Leave a Reply

