Sans Rival Cake

166807_1687346777631_1056526478_31706306_5350863_n.
I made this on my son’s second birthday and it was big hit to all our Filipino friends. I did not know that they also love sans rival. I’m glad I found the perfect recipe for this, it tastes just the way I want it. I’ve found another recipe of this from a famous chef in the Philippines, but I have never tried it perhaps this month I’ll  use her recipe in making this delicious Sans Rival cake.  I’ve found the recipe on this site oggiicandothat.

 

Meringue
5 egg whites
1 cup sugar
1½ cups chopped cashew or almonds
½ teaspoon vanilla extract

  • Beat the egg whites until stiff. Add the sugar gradually, continue beating. Fold in nuts and vanilla. Divide mixture into 4 – 5 very thin 9 inch rounds.* Bake in a 350°F oven until golden brown. Turn off oven, leave in the oven for total of 2 hours.**
Filling
¼ cup water
2/3 cup sugar
5 egg yolks
1 cup butter, room temperature
½ cup chopped nuts

  • Boil water and sugar until it spins a thread. Pour mixture gradually over well beaten egg yolks and continue beating until thick. Transfer to a bowl and chill in the fridge for an hour. Cream butter then add the well chilled egg mixture. Fill layers, sides and top of cake. Sprinkle nuts all over. I freeze mine for 3 hours before slicing and leave leftovers in the freezer.
Leave a Reply

