Inipit(pressed sponge cake)

HAPPY NEW YEAR 2013 to everyone!! :) It’s been a long time I have not post new recipes so here I am in the mood to share the new recipe that I have tried and found yummy. This was my first time to bake “Inipit“. I haven’t heard of this before , am not familiar as well until I stumble on it . I got so curious so I dare to bake it. For those who doesn’t know Inipit originates in Bulacan. Inipit  is basically two slices of sponge cake with custard filling.  I got the recipe from my favorite site/ blogger Pinay In Texas Cooking Corner

 

inipit

inipit

Ingredients:
For sponge cake
For filling
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 cup potato, mashed
  • 1 tsp lemon rind
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup condensed milk
  • ½ cup milk
  • ¼ cup butter
Procedure:
1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Grease and line two rectangular pans (I used two 12×9” aluminum pans). Set aside.
2. To make sponge cake:
 2.1 Beat egg yolks until light. Add milk, salt and 1 cup sugar. Continue beating until thick.
 2.2 Sift flour and baking powder. Fold into egg yolk mixture. Set aside.
 2.3 Beat egg whites and cream of tartar in a separate bowl until they form soft peaks. Add in remaining ½ cup sugar. Continue beating until stiff but not dry. Fold in the egg yolk mixture.
 2.4 Pour into the greased pans. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
 2.5 Let it cool completely.
3. Make the filling:
 3.1 In a saucepan over medium low heat, mix all the ingredients except the egg yolks. Keep on stirring for 5 minutes
 3.2 Add in the egg yolks and cook for 10 more minutes.
 3.3 Remove from heat and let cool. It will attain that spreadable texture after cooling.
4. Make the inipit:
 4.1 Run a dinner knife around the edge of each cake and turn over onto a sugar dusted wax or parchment paper.
 4.2 Spread the filling evenly on one of the cakes.
4.3 Slowly put the other cake on top of the filling. Gently press the 2 slabs together to form one large sandwich. Peel off the parchment paper. Sprinkle top with sugar.
4.4 Slice into 1″x2″ rectangles, or as desired.
Note: My inipit doesn’t look good because I was very impatient, I did not wait for my filling to cool down that’s why it’s a bit  runny but the taste was delicious.
2 thoughts on “Inipit(pressed sponge cake)

Leave a Reply

